Dear Evan Hansen - Toronto Countdown!!!

Cast of Dear Evan Hansen - Photo Credit: Matthew Murphy

Cast of Dear Evan Hansen - Photo Credit: Matthew Murphy

The Royal Alexandra Theatre has a new look to welcome and celebrate Dear Evan Hansen - Toronto’s newest show!

I was lucky enough to score a ticket to see this extraordinary Tony Award winning musical in New York two years ago starring the amazing Ben Platt. Not only was I blown away by his performance but I could not stop thinking about the show months after I saw it. The music was immediately downloaded to my phone and to this day it’s my go-to soundtrack.

My biggest thrill was meeting the show’s Tony & Grammy Award-winning composers Benj Pasek & Justin Paul, at the Critic’s Choice Awards in 2018.

With the amazing Pasek and Paul!!! These guys are BRILLIANT!!

With the amazing Pasek and Paul!!! These guys are BRILLIANT!!

Toronto, you’re in for a treat!!!

Produced in Toronto by Stacey Mindich and David Mirvish, the first international production of the multi-Tony Award-winning musical Dear Evan Hansen begins performances in just one week - Tuesday March 5, 2019.  

Tickets are on sale through June 30, 2019. For ticketing information, please go to

About The Cast

Robert Markus will play ‘Evan Hansen’, Stephanie La Rochelle will play ‘Zoe Murphy’, Jessica Sherman will play ‘Heidi Hansen’, Claire Rankin will play ‘Cynthia Murphy’, Evan Buliung will play ‘Larry Murphy’, Sean Patrick Dolan will play ‘Connor Murphy’, Alessandro Costantini will play ‘Jared Kleinman’, and Shakura Dickson will play ‘Alana Beck’ completing the on-stage company.

Robert Markus as “Evan Hansen”

Robert Markus as “Evan Hansen”

The cast also includes Zachary Noah Piser (as the ‘Evan’ alternate) along with understudies Erin Breen, Malinda Carroll, Jay Davis, David Jeffery, Laura Mae Nason, and Kaitlyn Santa Juana.

About The Show 

The winner of six 2017 Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Dear Evan Hansen features a book by Tony Award-winner Steven Levenson, a score by Academy Award, and Tony & Grammy Award-winning composers Benj Pasek & Justin Paul, and direction by 4-time Tony® Award nominee Michael Greif. The Grammy Award-winning Original Broadway Cast Recording of Dear Evan Hansen produced by Atlantic Records, was released in February 2017, making an extraordinary debut on the Billboard 200 and entering the chart at #8 – the highest charting debut position for an original cast album since 1961 – and went on to win the 2018 Grammy Award for Best Musical Theatre Album.  A new deluxe version of the cast recording, including six bonus tracks and a pop cover from Katy Perry of “Waving through a Window” is now available digitally.

 Declared “One of the most remarkable shows in musical theater history” by the Washington Post’s Peter Marks, Dear Evan Hansen opened on Broadway at the Music Box Theatre to rave reviews on December 4, 2016, where it’s broken all box office records and has struck a chord with critics and audiences alike.  In addition to the Broadway and Toronto productions, there is a national tour currently underway with performances scheduled across North America, and a London production set to debut in October 2019 at the Noel Coward Theatre.  The Broadway production recently celebrated its two-year anniversary with a special donation to the Smithsonian, where the show’s iconic blue polo and arm cast will now be part of the permanent collection of the National Museum of American History in Washington, DC. 

 Rolling Stone calls Dear Evan Hansen, “a game-changer that hits you like a shot in the heart” and The New York Times raves “a gut-punching, breathtaking knockout of a musical.” 

In addition to winning six 2017 Tony awards and a 2018 Grammy Award, Dear Evan Hansen has won numerous other awards, including the 2017 Drama League Award for Outstanding Musical Production and for the off-Broadway production, two Obie Awards, a Drama Desk Award, and two Outer Critics Circle Awards and two Helen Hayes Awards. 

Dear Evan Hansen features scenic design by David Korins, projection design by Peter Nigrini, costume design by Emily Rebholz, lighting design by Japhy Weideman, sound design by Nevin Steinberg, and hair design by David Brian Brown.  Music supervision, orchestrations and additional arrangements are by Alex Lacamoire.  Ben Cohn is the Associate Music Supervisor.  Vocal arrangements and additional arrangements are by Justin PaulDanny Mefford is the choreographer. Casting by Stephanie Gorin. Sash BischoffAdam Quinn and Danny Sharron are the Associate Directors.  Judith Schoenfeld is the Production Supervisor. US General Management 101 Productions, Ltd.